Homeric Hymn to Aphrodite 4: 5.100-130 TEXT & TRANSLATION

HHA 1: 5.1-33
HHA 2: 5.34-67
HHA 3: 5.68-99

The Greek text is printed by permission of
Thesaurus Linguae Gracae ®
TLG® is a registered trademark of The Regents of the University of California.

The original text is also available here (at PERSEUS).

TEXT

σοὶ δ’ ἐγὼ ἐν σκοπιῇ, περιφαινομένῳ ἐνὶ χώρῳ,          100

βωμὸν ποιήσω, ῥέξω δέ τοι ἱερὰ καλὰ

ὥρῃσιν πάσῃσι· σὺ δ’ εὔφρονα θυμὸν ἔχουσα

δός με μετὰ Τρώεσσιν ἀριπρεπέ’ ἔμμεναι ἄνδρα,

ποίει δ’ εἰσοπίσω θαλερὸν γόνον, αὐτὰρ ἔμ’ αὐτὸν

δηρὸν ἐῢ ζώειν καὶ ὁρᾶν φάος ἠελίοιο                       105

ὄλβιον ἐν λαοῖς καὶ γήραος οὐδὸν ἱκέσθαι.

Τὸν δ’ ἠμείβετ’ ἔπειτα Διὸς θυγάτηρ Ἀφροδίτη·

Ἀγχίση, κύδιστε χαμαιγενέων ἀνθρώπων,

οὔ τίς τοι θεός εἰμι· τί μ’ ἀθανάτῃσιν ἐΐσκεις;

ἀλλὰ καταθνητή γε, γυνὴ δέ με γείνατο μήτηρ.          110

Ὀτρεὺς δ’ ἐστὶ πατὴρ ὄνομα κλυτός, εἴ που ἀκούεις,

ὃς πάσης Φρυγίης εὐτειχήτοιο ἀνάσσει.

γλῶσσαν δ’ ὑμετέρην καὶ ἡμετέρην σάφα οἶδα·

Τρῳὰς γὰρ μεγάρῳ με τροφὸς τρέφεν, ἡ δὲ διὰ πρὸ

σμικρὴν παῖδ’ ἀτίταλλε φίλης παρὰ μητρὸς ἑλοῦσα.    115

ὣς δή τοι γλῶσσάν γε καὶ ὑμετέρην εὖ οἶδα.

νῦν δέ μ’ ἀνήρπαξε χρυσόρραπις Ἀργειφόντης

ἐκ χοροῦ Ἀρτέμιδος χρυσηλακάτου κελαδεινῆς.

πολλαὶ δὲ νύμφαι καὶ παρθένοι ἀλφεσίβοιαι

παίζομεν, ἀμφὶ δ’ ὅμιλος ἀπείριτος ἐστεφάνωτο·        120

ἔνθεν μ’ ἥρπαξε χρυσόρραπις Ἀργειφόντης,

πολλὰ δ’ ἔπ’ ἤγαγεν ἔργα καταθνητῶν ἀνθρώπων,

πολλὴν δ’ ἄκληρόν τε καὶ ἄκτιτον, ἣν διὰ θῆρες

ὠμοφάγοι φοιτῶσι κατὰ σκιόεντας ἐναύλους,

οὐδὲ ποσὶ ψαύσειν ἐδόκουν φυσιζόου αἴης·               125

Ἀγχίσεω δέ με φάσκε παραὶ λέχεσιν καλέεσθαι

κουριδίην ἄλοχον, σοὶ δ’ ἀγλαὰ τέκνα τεκεῖσθαι.

αὐτὰρ ἐπεὶ δὴ δεῖξε καὶ ἔφρασεν ἦ τοι ὅ γ’ αὖτις

ἀθανάτων μετὰ φῦλ’ ἀπέβη κρατὺς Ἀργειφόντης·

αὐτὰρ ἐγώ σ’ ἱκόμην, κρατερὴ δέ μοι ἔπλετ’ ἀνάγκη.   130

TRANSLATION

For you I shall make an altar on a look-out peak in a            100

spot visible from afar, and there in your honor I shall make

beautiful offerings in all seasons.  Now you, be of kindly

mind and grant me eminence among the Trojans

and in the future make me flourishing offspring, and as for

myself, grant me a life long and fine, and let me prosper and

behold the sun’s light among my people and come to the      105

threshold of old age.”

Him she then answered, Aphrodite, the daughter of Zeus:

“Anchises, most glorious of men born of the earth,

no goddess am I – why do you liken me to an immortal?

No, I am a mortal, and my mother — a woman — bore me.   110

Otreus is my father, renowned in name, in case perhaps you’ve

heard of him; he lords it over all of finely fortified Phrygia.

Your language and my own I know perfectly,

for a Trojan nurse nursed me in the great halls, and she

took me from my dear mother and raised me all the way      115

from a young age:  and that’s how I know so well

your language too.  As for now, Hermes of the golden wand,

the slayer of Argos, snatched me up from a noisy dance

to Artemis of the golden spindle.  We were at play, a lot of

young women and maidens wooed with cattle, and crowding

around was a vast throng – Hermes of the golden wand,      120

the slayer of Argos, snatched me from their midst.

He brought me to many cultivations of mortal men,

and much land unowned and untilled where flesh-eating

beasts roam among shady haunts – and I seemed

not to be touching the life-giving earth with my feet.           125

He said for me to be called the wedded wife of Anchises

in his bed, and to bear glorious offspring for you.

And after the mighty slayer of Argos had shown you to me

and given his instructions he in fact went off to be

among the tribes of the immortals but I came to you —

there was powerful constraint on me.

This entry was posted in CLASSICA, LITERATURE. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Homeric Hymn to Aphrodite 4: 5.100-130 TEXT & TRANSLATION

  1. heather says:

    enviable position?

  2. Pingback: Homeric Hymn to Aphrodite 5: 5.131-167 TEXT & TRANSLATION | laohutiger

  3. Pingback: Homeric Hymn to Aphrodite 6: 5.168-201 TEXT & TRANSLATION | laohutiger

  4. Pingback: Homeric Hymn to Aphrodite 7: 5.202-236 TEXT & TRANSLATION | laohutiger

  5. Pingback: Homeric Hymn to Aphrodite 8: 5.237-263 TEXT & TRANSLATION | laohutiger

  6. Pingback: Homeric Hymn to Aphrodite 9: 5.264-293 TEXT & TRANSLATION | laohutiger

Leave a Reply

