LANGUAGE OLIO 1: Introduction

LANGUAGE OLIO – Intro

In continuing my little notes on LANGUAGE, in what follows I do not mean to be mean, nor irritatingly pedantic, but just to enjoy myself and perhaps, in the process of my own amusement, amuse – and, I hope, even enlighten – also you the reader.  It’s just that I observe this and that in my daily meanderings through the print media, and an academic habit over a lifetime of the close reading of texts makes even material that is not meant for close reading pop out at me when it is less than felicitous.

I think of this process as one of ‘chunking’ – I write in little ‘chunks’ of material and even within one of these chunks I chunk – that is, I go about my writing by often doing it in chunks, coming back to it and doing some rethinking and revising, some adding, some subtracting, some ludic interludes with the language, …

So, look in the LANGUAGE category from time to time for some peripatetic chunks of chunking.  For example, try LANGUAGE OLIO 1: Our are

PREVIOUS
ENTRIES

LIE LAY     PLURALS & GENDER     WHO WHOM WHOSE WHO’S

This entry was posted in LANGUAGE and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to LANGUAGE OLIO 1: Introduction

  1. Pingback: LANGUAGE OLIO 2: than | laohutiger

  2. Pingback: LANGUAGE OLIO 3: our are | laohutiger

  3. Pingback: LANGUAGE OLIO 4: opus maximus | laohutiger

  4. Pingback: LANGUAGE OLIO 5: Words 1 – prosopagnosia phonagnosia | laohutiger

  5. Pingback: LANGUAGE OLIO 6: Words 2 – mobocracy ineptocracy | laohutiger

  6. Pingback: LANGUAGE OLIO 7: words 3 — lalochezia laliophilia | laohutiger

Leave a Reply

