Pencil drawing: tugboat

Shame to say, drawing was (is) not my strong point – but of course it should be!
Had I been trained in the traditions of the academic atelier schools of 19th
century France I would have been a fine draftsman.  But I have had
to limit myself to copying (something that in fact those painters
did too – and you can still see artists in many European
museums to this day sitting in front of a masterpiece
drawing or painting it).  Anyway, from time to time I
liked to try my hand – without tracing! – at copying some
drawing or a photo I like, and this tugboat from a photo (probably
in a magazine) was one of the results.  It looks credible, and in a (cheating
kind of ?) sense it is freehand – if you see what I mean.  I still enjoy doing those
exercises, and it does help to train the eye just a very tiny little bit — and that counts!

 

This entry was posted in ART and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pencil drawing: tugboat

  1. Helga says:

    I like it very much! One can feel the power a tugboat has to have to maneuver much bigger boats into position. It reminds me a little bit of a story about a tugboat which I had to read to my children many many times.

  2. heather says:

    aahhh…but this is a very sweet tug boat.

Leave a Reply

