Gnomicon 004

If you have not already done so, you may wish to read the
Introduction to Gnomica.

Gnomicon  004
Saturday 3 March 2012

I no doubt deserved my enemies, but I don’t believe I deserved my friends.
Walt Whitman (31 May 1819 – 26 March 1892)

“What is life, what is pleasure without golden Aphrodite?” [τίς δὲ βίος, τί δὲ τερπνὸν ἄτερ χρυσῆς Ἀφροδίτης;   tis de bios, ti de terpnon ater khrusēs Aphroditēs?] the ancient poet Mimnermus (floruit 630-600 BCE) asks!  And what, I ask myself, is life without friendship?  Not, I venture, much!  There are the iconic friendships – Achilles and Patroklos, Holmes and Watson, Thelma and Louise … but what sustains me is less than a handful of proven friends (and they know who they are!) who over the past few years made it a point of (as the journalist Walter Winchell once said) walking in when others walked out.  I don’t know if I deserved them, but, even so, there they were – and are. That is cause for great gratitude.

Yes, a true friendship is beyond measuring.

Yes, reader, you too should be so lucky!

gnomicon
001     002     003

This entry was posted in CLASSICA, GNOMICA and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gnomicon 004

  1. heather says:

    Very true!

Leave a Reply

